BusinessHow Do I...?Visitors
Click to Home
Go To Search
2018 Qualifying Fees


Pursuant to the provisions of Section 21-2-131(a)1(A) of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, the Morgan County Board of Commissioners does hereby certify that listed below are the qualifying fees to be paid by candidates for elections in Morgan County in 2018.  Qualifying fees were set at the January 9, 2018 Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners. 

OFFICE                                                                                                  QUALIFYING FEE

Board of Education (Districts 4 and 5)                                                               $   113.00

County Commissioner (Districts 1 and 2)                                                           $   144.00

Qualifying for the offices listed above will begin at 9:00 a.m. on March 5, 2018 and will end at noon on March 9, 2018. The General Primary will be held on May 22, 2018 and the Primary Run-Off, if needed, will take place on July 24, 2018.  The General Election will be held on November 6, 2018 and the General Election Run-Off, if needed, will be held December 4, 2018.  For more information, contact Morgan County Election Supervisor, Jennifer Doran at (706) 343-6311 or the local political parties.

Donald Harris, Chairman
Morgan County Board of Commissioners

2018 Qualifying Notice


Notice is given that qualifying for Local Independent candidates will begin at 9:00a.m. on Monday, March 5, 2018 and end at 12:00p.m. on Friday, March 9, 2018. Candidates need to file a Notice of Candidacy form and pay the required qualifying fees.  Qualifying will be held at:

Morgan County Board of Elections and Registration
434 Hancock Street
Madison, GA  30650

A nomination petition of a candidate for local office shall be signed by a number of voters equal to five (5) percent of the total number of registered voters eligible to vote in the last election for the filling of the office the candidate is seeking, and the signers of such petition shall be registered and eligible to vote in the election at which such candidate seeks to be elected.

The nomination petition is to be filed between 9:00a.m. on Monday, June 25, 2018 and 12:00p.m. on Tuesday, July 10, 2018. 

Qualifying for Political Party candidates will also be held at the above address. Candidates will need to file the Declaration of Candidacy and Affidavit and pay the required qualifying fees.

Political party candidate qualifying fees are paid directly to the political party at the time of qualifying.

For other than political party candidates, the qualifying fee will be paid to the Morgan County Board of Commissioners at the time of qualifying.

For further information, as well as to obtain a copy of the required forms for qualification, please contact:

Jennifer Doran, Elections Supervisor
Morgan County Board of Elections and Registration
434 Hancock Street, Madison GA 30650
(706) 343-6311

2018 SPLOST Referendum



NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that on the 22nd day of May, 2018, an election will be held at the regular polling places in all the election districts of Morgan County, Georgia (“the County”), at which time there will be submitted to the qualified voters of the county for their determination the question of whether a one percent county special purpose local option sales and use tax (the “SPLOST”) shall be imposed on all sales and uses in the special district created in the County for a period of six (6) years for the raising of approximately $21,760,000.00 for the purpose of funding capital outlay projects (“Projects”) specified in the form of the ballot set forth below.

Shall a special one percent sales and use tax be imposed in the special district of Morgan County for a period of time not to exceed six (6) years and for the raising of an estimated amount of $21,760,000.00 for the purpose of: (1) Morgan County: Debt Service on Public Safety Complex; Public Safety Vehicles, Machinery & Equipment; Renovations to County Buildings; County-Wide Infrastructure Improvements; and Non-Public Safety Vehicles, Machinery & Equipment; (2) City of Madison: Transportation Development & Maintenance; Buildings; Vehicles and Mobile Equipment; Park Improvements & Maintenance; Parks and Greenspace Acquisition; (3) City of Rutledge: Sewer Lift Station; Water Infrastructure; Fears Road Well; New Well SCADA; Sidewalks; City Buildings – Repairs; Truck; (4) City of Bostwick: Water System Infrastructure Improvements; Recreation Facilities Improvements; Road Improvements; Pedestrian Area Improvements; Downtown Restoration Improvements; and (5) Town of Buckhead: Water System Improvements; Capital Improvements for Town Properties; Maintenance Equipment.

All persons who are not registered to vote and who desire to register to vote in the Special Election may register to vote through the close of business on April 24, 2018.

Advance voting will be held at Morgan County Board of Elections and Registration Office, 434 Hancock St., Madison, Ga. 30650, from April 30, 2018 through May 18, 2018, Monday through Friday, and on Saturday, May 12, 2018, from 9:00a.m. to 4:00p.m.  
Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.

Jennifer Doran, Elections Supervisor

Morgan County, Georgia

This page is for general public information purposes only and is not intended to be a complete listing of election laws, dates, and policies that govern elections and voter registration in Morgan County and in Georgia.